Subscribe to our newsletter

Narendra Modi Sworn In for Third Term as India’s Prime Minister

Narendra Modi has been inaugurated for a third consecutive term as India's Prime Minister in a grand ceremony held at Delhi's presidential palace

Narendra Modi has commenced his third consecutive term as India’s Prime Minister in a grand ceremony held at the presidential palace in Delhi. Modi, leading the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), was sworn in by President Draupadi Murmu and vowed to govern with impartiality and uphold the constitution.

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance won the recent general elections with 293 seats, a victory margin smaller than anticipated by exit polls. The elections also highlighted a resurgence by India’s opposition parties, securing 234 seats.

The inauguration was attended by thousands, including dignitaries from Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and the Maldives, although representatives from Pakistan and China were notably absent. During the ceremony, Modi pledged to maintain India’s sovereignty and integrity, committing to “do right to all manner of people in accordance with the constitution and the law without fear or favour.”

Alongside Modi, a new council of ministers was also inaugurated, marking the beginning of governance under Modi’s renewed leadership. At 73, Modi is the second Indian leader after Jawaharlal Nehru to win a third consecutive term. He has expressed his dedication to eradicating corruption and poverty, emphasizing the empowerment of the poor and middle class as a top priority.

Must Read

French Companies Suez and Vinci Tasked with Wastewater Treatment Project in Belgrade

In a significant move to enhance wastewater treatment in Belgrade, the Serbian government has signed a memorandum of understanding with French companies Suez International...