Subscribe to our newsletter

Slovenia Secures Second Term as Non-Permanent UN Security Council Member

Slovenia has commenced its second tenure as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council from 1st January.

Alongside Slovenia, the Council welcomes Algeria, Guyana, South Korea, and Sierra Leone as the new non-permanent members for a two-year mandate.

The Security Council of the UN has a total of 15 members. This includes five permanent members with veto power – France, the United Kingdom, the United States, China, and Russia. The Council also includes ten non-permanent members, elected on a two-year rotational basis, with five members being replaced annually.

The selection of non-permanent members follows a regional distribution principle.

Countries like Serbia, Montenegro, and North Macedonia have yet to gain representation in the UN Security Council, a status shared by over a third of UN member states.

Historically, Yugoslavia was a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council four times. Post its disintegration, Slovenia (1998-1999), Croatia (2008-2009), and Bosnia and Herzegovina (2010-2011) have participated as independent nations in the Council.

Must Read

Western Balkans Urged to Invest $37 Billion to Combat Climate Change

The six economies of the Western Balkans must collectively invest at least USD 37 billion over the next decade to safeguard against the escalating...